Vaadin 7.3 – Valo, OSGi and e4

I got the chance to see a preview of Vaadin 7.3 some days ago and I am really really impressed about the new features it brings.

Until now, I have worked with the Vaadin Reindeer theme and tried to customize it. But since I am a Java developer, I do not have particularly deep knowledge about CSS3 and had a hard time with it. That’s why I am really looking forward to Vaadin 7.3 and going to upgrade my customer projects in the next days. The new Valo-Theme is exactly what I have been trying to do myself: a responsive and highly customizable theme. There are many different styles and most of them meet my objectives without having to change anything in the CSS.

And the best thing about Vaadin 7.3 is that it comes with a high-end Sass compiler. In the last days I was reading a lot about Sass and it is a perfect match for Java developers. Using this very intuitive styling language, Vaadin 7.3 will compile that information into proper CSS3. Really crazy… For me Sass is something like a DSL for CSS3. Thus, I do not have to schedule my CSS training anymore — I just have to use Sass 😀

 OSGi and Vaaclipse

During the next days, I will “Run a first Vaadin 7.3 OSGi application”. And I am sure right now: it is a perfect match.

Running a Vaadin 7.3 OSGi application is the base for migrating the Vaaclipse-Project to Valo too. The Vaaclipse-Project is a rendering layer to render the e4-workspace with Vaadin. See http://semanticsoft.github.io/vaaclipse/.

For details about Vaadin 7.3 just click here.

I also added two screenshots about the new theme:

Metro-Theme

Valo-1

Dark-Theme

Valo-2

 

Going to keep you informed…

Best, Florian

Leave a Reply

